Witches Witches: The history of a persecution

Prueba ahora Firma sin compromiso. Cancele cuando quiera.


When bigotry and power-mania take control, disaster always follows for subjugated persons - even when the power is wielded by the Church.

Witchcraft was viewed as devil-worship. Between 1450 and 1750, one hundred thousand people were accused, subject to the most bestial tortures and usually executed. Witches examines the wildfire-spread of witch hunting across Europe and America, revealing the disturbing and brutal realities of these witch hunts and their roots in misogyny and religious persecution.

It includes:

• Letters and trial testimonies from those charged with witchcraft, as well as some from self-proclaimed witches

• Biographic detail of key witch hunters, such as Matthew Hopkins (the so-called Witchfinder General) who was responsible for hundreds of executions

• Accounts of famous witch trials, from Chelmsford to Salam

Nigel Cawthorne doesn't shy away from the violent details of this persecution, exploring the events as they transpired, the contexts that triggered them and tracing it back to its source.

Please note: This audiobook contains descriptions of a violent and sexual nature and is not intended for younger listeners. Discretion is advised.


  • Opening Credits

    Duración: 10s
  • Introduction

    Duración: 09min
  • Chapter 1: The Crucible

    Duración: 19min
  • Chapter 2: Witchfinding in England

    Duración: 32min
  • Chapter 3: The Origins of the Witch Hunt

    Duración: 24min
  • Chapter 4: The Flames of France – Part 1

    Duración: 59min
  • Chapter 4: The Flames of France – Part 2

    Duración: 01h02min
  • Chapter 4: The Flames of France – Part 3

    Duración: 01h01min
  • Chapter 5: The Hexen of Germany – Part 1

    Duración: 25min
  • Chapter 5: The Hexen of Germany – Part 2

    Duración: 57min
  • Chapter 5: The Hexen of Germany – Part 3

    Duración: 47min
  • Chapter 6: Scandinavian Sabbats

    Duración: 23min
  • Chapter 7: The Spanish Inquisition

    Duración: 57min
  • Chapter 8: The Witch of Umbria

    Duración: 12min
  • Chapter 9: Hammer of the Scots – Part 1

    Duración: 41min
  • Chapter 9: Hammer of the Scots – Part 2

    Duración: 31min
  • Chapter 10: The Irish Experience

    Duración: 11min
  • Chapter 16

    Duración: 11min
  • Chapter 11: Burning on the Channel Islands

    Duración: 03min
  • Outro

    Duración: 21s