The Harder They Come

Prueba ahora Firma sin compromiso. Cancele cuando quiera.


Acclaimed New York Times bestselling author T.C. Boyle makes his Ecco debut with a powerful, gripping novel that explores the roots of violence and anti-authoritarianism inherent in the American character.

Set in contemporary Northern California, The Harder They Come explores the volatile connections between three damaged people—an aging ex-Marine and Vietnam veteran, his psychologically unstable son, and the son's paranoid, much older lover—as they careen towards an explosive confrontation.

On a vacation cruise to Central America with his wife, seventy-year-old Sten Stensen unflinchingly kills a gun-wielding robber menacing a busload of senior tourists. The reluctant hero is relieved to return home to Fort Bragg, California, after the ordeal—only to find that his delusional son, Adam, has spiraled out of control.

Adam has become involved with Sara Hovarty Jennings, a hardened member of the Sovereign Citizens’ Movement, right-wing anarchists who refuse to acknowledge the laws and regulations of the state, considering them to be false and non-applicable. Adam’s senior by some fifteen years, Sara becomes his protector and inamorata. As Adam's mental state fractures, he becomes increasingly schizophrenic—a breakdown that leads him to shoot two people in separate instances. On the run, he takes to the woods, spurring the biggest manhunt in California history.

As he explores a father’s legacy of violence and his powerlessness in relating to his equally violent son, T. C. Boyle offers unparalleled psychological insights into the American psyche. Inspired by a true story, The Harder They Come is a devastating and indelible novel from a modern master.


  • 01-The Harder They Come

    Duración: 32s
  • 02-Part I - Chapter One

    Duración: 43min
  • 03-Chapter Two

    Duración: 35min
  • 04-Chapter Three

    Duración: 21min
  • 05-Chapter Four

    Duración: 21min
  • 06-Part II - Chapter Five

    Duración: 20min
  • 07-Chapter Six

    Duración: 15min
  • 08-Chapter Seven

    Duración: 17min
  • 09-Chapter Eight

    Duración: 15min
  • 10-Part III - Chapter Nine

    Duración: 17min
  • 11-Chapter Ten

    Duración: 22min
  • 12-Chapter Eleven

    Duración: 12min
  • 13-Part IV - Chapter Twelve

    Duración: 23min
  • 14-Chapter Thirteen

    Duración: 20min
  • 15-Chapter Fourteen

    Duración: 22min
  • 16-Part V - Chapter Fifteen

    Duración: 34min
  • 17-Chapter Sixteen

    Duración: 18min
  • 18-Chapter Seventeen

    Duración: 13min
  • 19-Chapter Eighteen

    Duración: 17min
  • 20- Part VI - Chapter Nineteen

    Duración: 29min
página 1 de 3